Mary, Star of the Sea school has a remarkable history dating back to the founding of Mary Star of the Sea Parish also known as Mary, Our Lady Star of the Sea. This new church was added to the Diocese by Bishop James J. Sweeney and headed by Father Edward Donze, S.M. and staffed by the Marist Fathers and Brothers. On August 25, 1946 Star of the Sea Parish celebrated with its first mass.
Less than a month later, on September 3, 1946, Mary, Star of the Sea School was founded and staffed by the six Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur (pictured). The enrollment was 187 students and grades ranged from kindergarten through third grade. By 1948, the number of sisters doubled and the enrollment of students increased to 511. In 1953 the present buildings were completed and expanded for 16 sisters and 600 pupils. Over time the school developed into three separate entities: an elementary school, middle school and high school. Although the schools thrived and grew throughout its history, in 1990 the high school was phased out due to increased costs to run and low enrollment.
Throughout its history, the primary purpose of Mary, Star of the Sea Early Learning Center (ELC) is to educate the whole person, spiritually, intellectually and personally. The curriculum is designed to be sufficiently flexible and varied so as to provide the experience necessary to achieve these ends. The schools exist to supplement the work of the parent in Christian education and to foster in students a love for God and neighbor.
Mary, Star of the Sea School today also provides elementary and middle school education. For more information, go to Mary, Star of the Sea Elementary School.